Why those who say Windows 7 going “bye bye” are likely wrong.

I know I’m sticking my neck out there when I say this, but Windows 7 is the “XP” of this next generation.  Remember these words, because either I will be dancing a jig saying “I told you so”, or I will be eating crow.  Why am I addressing this?  It’s because of the following article on PCWorld.

Why Microsoft needs to reveal Windows 9 sooner than later: The end of Windows 7

Look at that last part.  “The end of Windows 7.”  When I first read that, I nearly spat out my Sprite.  Now that I am fully back within my faculties, I can comment better.  First of all, this was a well written article by Brad Chacos.  In fact, 90 percent of the article is not only true, but I totally agree with, especially that Windows 9 needs to come out soon, and it better be something special.  That new OS better have a Start Menu, or you are going to see a mass exodus to Apple and or people just hoarding their current Windows 7 machines even more.

The problem that I had with this article is that while the information was factually correct, contextually and historically, it could never have been more wrong.  In fact this is fear mongering reporting, and it only took a couple of lines buried in a well drafted article.  You can get an idea of what I mean by reading the comments from other readers.  Here is most likely what will happen, and I based this on years of experience and history of Microsoft.

Windows 9 may come out in September and it may not.  Regardless of when it comes out, Windows 7 is not going bye bye.  In fact, it’s going to be around, as you can see, until 2020.  That’s still 6 years from now.  If you look at the past, when Vista came out, people hated it and DEMANDED Windows XP be a choice to downgrade to on new PC purchases.  And sorry Mr. Chacos, you are wrong about it just being business machines that will have that option, as most likely the consumer PC market will demand that as a downgrade option.

So to my subscribers I will say this.  A lot of articles in the next 30-60 days will be similar to this and you need to take it with a grain of salt.  I do reserve the right to be totally wrong on that downgrade option, but I don’t think I will be.  The only way I see that there is no downgrade option to Windows 7 is if Windows 9 is so amazing, like Windows 7 amazing, then maybe then, you are looking at people flocking to Windows 9 like they did with 7.  Time will tell.  Best advice is to “Keep Calm and Windows 7”

If you are looking for alternatives on Windows 8, I recently had an article published for the technology company GSATi Inc.  Check it out here.   Alternatives to Windows 8

Leave a Reply

